Databases
OCLC First Search
OCLC FirstSearch service, connecting you to information in a wide range of
subjects in 16 databases. To access these databases, you must enter the assigned
authorization code and password for Ida Public Library. Please contact the Ida
Public Library at 815-544-3838 to get the necessary authorization code and
password to access this site.
OCLC Databases include:
Illinois Catalog - OCLC catalog of materials in Illinois
libraries.
ArticleFirst - OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
ClasePeriodica - Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
Ebooks - OCLC catalog of online electronic books available
through libraries worldwide.
ECO - An OCLC collection of scholarly journals
ERIC - Journal articles and reports on education topics
GPO - U.S. government publications
MEDLINE - All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing
NetFirst - An OCLC database of Internet resources
PapersFirst* - OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
PerAbs - Periodical abstracts from general and academic journals
Proceedings - An OCLC index of worldwide conference
proceedings.
WilsonSelectPlus - Full text articles in science, humanities, education and
business
WorldAlmanac - The World Almanacs - fundamental reference resources
WorldCat - OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide
EBSCO Publishing
- Please contact your library administrator to
obtain a User ID and Password to access the following sites.
NoveList
Contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's
"chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. NoveList allows
readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors
and titles of interest. In addition, three powerful search techniques allow
readers to look for books by entering descriptive terms that appear in subject
headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records. NoveList version 4
introduced Advanced Natural Language searching and Boolean searching, and added
full-text searching of reviews to Describe a Plot. Users can browse
theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and
look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction. Many title records have direct
links to Web sites with information about the author or teacher resource
materials. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and
authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. A
comprehensive tutorial on how to use the site is also available.
EBSCOhost
maintains a comprehensive online reference system with superior
content combined with a user-friendly, customizable system with unique features
for searching and retrieving information. EBSCOhost offers customizable basic
and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced
subject indexing and journal searching to assist patrons in performing thorough
investigations of their research topics. With links from the full record display
to related articles by subject, magazine issue or author, patrons can further
explore their topic. In addition, EBSCOhost allows patrons to print, e-mail or
download multiple articles.
Advanced Searching Features
EBSCOhost offers a range of advanced searching features. Results can be limited
or refined by various criteria including subject, author, journal, date,
peer-reviewed status and full text availability. Many products on EBSCOhost
support an enhanced subject search allowing in-depth searching of people,
companies, reviews or specific subject headings. From there, users can navigate
subdivisions or related terms, exploring subjects that contain periodicals,
reviews, newspapers, pamphlets or reference books. In addition, researchers can
build upon their search terms by using EBSCOhost's search history and search
builder capabilities. EBSCOhost also offers links to title lists, expanded
publisher information, help on how to cite electronic resources and a referral
back to your library homepage.
HeritageQuest Online
ProQuest Information and Learning's HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with
a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history
and American culture. Beginning or professional genealogists can now use this
powerful online library, with original page images for all documents, from the
convenience of their home or at the library. Indexes and original page images
mean no additional trips, inter-library loan requests or work by researchers or
staff.
HeritageQuest Online is designed specifically for patrons in public libraries
who are either just beginning their family research or who after years of work
are still uncovering their past. With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal
Census, PERSI, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online gives any
library the chance to tap in to one of the largest collections of genealogy
material in the country.